If you’ve been looking for the best vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe, your search is over! You don’t have to refrigerate the dough, so you can just roll and bake. These vegan cookies bake up thick and chewy, with crisp edges!
Best Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies
Like most people, I LOVE cookies! They’re one of my favorite things to bake, eat and gift! There’s nothing better than seeing the look on someone’s face when you give them a fresh batch of homemade chocolate chip cookies. Warm, sweet, and so gooey… what’s not to love?
More than a few of my friends live vegan lifestyles, so I’ve been feeling inspired to create a delicious recipe for soft and chewy vegan chocolate chip cookies! I wanted the recipe to taste just like my classiceveryday chocolate chip cookies, but be made with cruelty-free ingredients that everyone can enjoy.
And guess what? After exactly 7 recipes fails, I did it!!! And it was worth the work, you guys. Because these are the most wonderful vegan chocolate chip cookies ever. REALLY! The best part of this recipe is that these cookies taste so much like traditional chocolate chip cookies, no one even knows they’re vegan. In fact many of my friends have told me these are the best cookies I’ve ever baked. And I bake a TON of cookies.
Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe
- Instead of vegan butter, this recipe is made with coconut oil. It gives the cookies a delightful taste and texture. Not a fan of coconut flavor? Not a problem! Just be sure to select refined coconut oil, which has a neutral scent and flavor. But if you love coconut flavor, you’ll want to select unrefined coconut oil, which has a strong – but not – overwhelming coconut scent and flavor.
And if you REALLY love coconut, try adding a 1/2 cup of toasted coconut flakes to the cookie dough. It’s a coconut lovers dream!!!
- I have not tested this recipe with vegan butter or any other alternative, so I cannot advise on substitutions.
- Because coconut oil turns into a liquid state when warm, you’ll want to make sure your coconut oil is solidified before incorporating it in this recipe. It doesn’t need to be rock hard, but it should be solid and easily scoop-able. If your coconut oil is too runny, simply stick it in the fridge for a little while. It will firm up.The consistency of the coconut oil is so important because we’re not chilling the dough before baking the cookies. So if the consistency is off, the cookies will spread too much, or not enough.
Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
- I could seriously eat a large bowl of this cookie dough because it tastes so good! And doesn’t have any yucky raw egg in it. But I resist (most of the time) because the baked cookies are even better. And because eating raw flour isn’t the smartest thing to do. But I digress. Visually, the raw cookie dough should look like this ↓
How to Fix Sticky Dough
If the cookie dough appears too sticky, add in a little more flour. And if your cookie dough appears too firm, add in a little more non-dairy milk. It should be soft but not mushy, and firm but not hard. Basically it should look like traditional cookie dough. Unfortunately, I don’t suggest freezing this cookie dough. I’ve done it a few times in the past with not great results. But the vegan cookies will “keep”, stored in an airtight container for a few days. And you can definitely freeze the baked cookies!
Where to find Vegan Chocolate Chips?
There are a ton of vegan and dairy free chocolate brands out there these days! Some are great, and others aren’t… so I suggest trying out a few and finding a brand that you really enjoy. And of course, you don’t have to use chocolate chips. Chocolate chunks would also be delicious in these cookies! And if your not 100% vegan, you can use any chocolate brand you want. I’m not vegan, so I often use my favorite Lindt dark chocolate to make (almost) vegan chocolate chunk cookies. We also love the enjoy life brand!
If you can’t find vegan chocolate chips or chocolate chunks in your local grocery store, search online. I know amazon sells vegan chocolate chips and chocolate bars.
The remaining dry ingredients called for in this cookie recipe are pretty basic! Flour, light brown sugar, baking powder, and salt. I haven’t tried making these gluten free, but I’ve been told by several readers that 1-for-1 gluten free flours do work well in this recipe. So if you’re gluten intolerant, it might be worth experimenting with. Almond flour and coconut flour should not be used in this recipe! They will not work. Whole wheat flour may be used, but the cookies will be much darker in color and a little less chewy.
In addition to the flour mixture, you’ll also need applesauce and non-dairy milk. I’ve had the best results with full-fat coconut milk (the kind that comes in a can), but almond milk and even soy milk will work in a pinch. I haven’t tested this recipe with homemade applesauce, but as long as it’s unsweetened, I think it should work. I also think an equal amount of very ripe mashed bananas would work as a replacement for the applesauce. But this would definitely add a banana flavor. So experiment at your own risk.
How to Bake Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies
- Unlike most cookie recipes that instruct you to preheat oven to 350, these cookies call for a slightly higher oven temperature of 375. The higher temperature yields cookies that are crispy on the outside but chewy on the inside.
- I like to make these cookies BIG. And use a large cookie scoop to create the monster sized cookies you see in my photos. Of course you may make them smaller or even larger, but will need to adjust the baking time. Small cookies will bake quite fast (I suggest you start checking them around 6 minutes) and larger ones take longer to bake (I suggest you check them around 9 minutes).
- Finally, be sure you don’t over bake these cookies! They only need 9 to 12 minutes in the oven, and will firm up quite a bit as they cool. Over baked cookies will be dry and crumbly… not chewy like we want!
I like to press a few extra chocolate chips on top of the warm vegan chocolate chip cookies right when they come out of the oven. This step is optional. Personally I can never have too much chocolate in, ON, or around my cookies lolol. But I’m a chocoholic… so that shouldn’t come as a surprise. You can also sprinkle the cookies with flaky sea salt, which adds a nice flavor contrast. And if you really want to go over the top, pick up some vegan ice cream and use these cookies to make homemade vegan ice cream cookie sandwiches. You’ll thank me for that little tip this Summer haha.
The hardest part of this recipe? WAITING FOR THE COOKIES TO COOL!!! I suggest cooling these cookies at least 15 minutes before moving them from the baking sheet. But they taste the best when you wait at least 30 minutes before eating them, so I suggest placing them on a cooling rack to firm up for a bit. This brief cooling period allows the cookies to firm up a bit, but they’ll still be warm and gooey when you bite in.
Vegan chocolate chip cookies that don’t taste one bit vegan. Bake now, thank me later 😉
More Vegan Cookie Recipes:
- Vegan Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies
- Chewy Chocolate Fudge Cookies (Vegan)
- Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
If you try this perfect vegan chocolate chip cookies recipe, let me know! Leave a comment below and don’t forget to snap a pic and tag it#bakerbynatureon instagram! Seeing your kitchen creations makes my day. ♥
The Most Wonderful Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever
Thick and chewy vegan chocolate chip cookies. These are wonderful!
4.91 from 339 votes
PRINT RECIPE PIN RECIPE
Prep Time 10 mins
Cook Time 10 mins
Inactive Time 15 mins
Total Time 35 mins
Servings 16 cookies
- 1/2 cup coconut oil, solid but scoop-able
- 1 and 1/4 cups light brown sugar, packed
- 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
- 1/4 cup coconut milk (I like to use the thicker Thai variety, but any coconut milk will work)
- 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
- 2 and 1/3 cups all-purpose flour (be sure not to pack your flour)
- 1 teaspoon baking soda
- 1/2 teaspoon salt
- 2 cups chocolate chips (use vegan chocolate chips if vegan), divided
- Flaky sea salt, optional
Preheat oven to 375 degrees (F). Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.
In a large bowl whisk together the coconut oil, brown sugar, and vanilla, beating until well combined. Add in the coconut milk and applesauce and whisk until well combined; set aside. In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; whisk well to combine.
Add the dry ingredients into the wet mixture and, using a wooden spoon or very sturdy spatula, stir until ingredients are combined. The batter will be very thick! Fold in 1 and 3/4 cups of the chocolate chips.
Scoop three tablespoon sized mounds of dough onto the prepared cookie sheet, leaving a few inches between each cookies for spreading. Bake for 9 to 10 minutes, or until the edges are golden and the centers have set. Press remaining chocolate chips on top of warm cookies, and sprinkle with sea salt, if using. Cool cookies on the baking sheet for 15 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack.
If the dough appears too sticky, add a little more flour, one tablespoon at a time; if the dough appears too dry, add a tablespoon of coconut milk.
- Girl Scout Thin Mints. ...
- Nabisco Nutter Butters. ...
- Trader Joe's Organic Animal Crackers. ...
- Nature's Path Sandwich Cookies (Chocolate, Vanilla, Duplex, or Ginger Lemon) ...
- Girl Scout Peanut Butter Patties (From ABC Bakers) ...
- Kookie Cat vegan cookies. ...
- Alternative Baking Company vegan cookies.
While finding a healthy, non-vegan cookie recipe that actually tastes good can be difficult, vegan cookies are an excellent option as they're both tasty and free of the processed ingredients that make most treats so unhealthy!Are Oreos vegan? ›
Are OREO cookies suitable for vegans? No, OREO have milk as cross contact and therefore they are not suitable for vegans.Why do vegans avoid dairy? ›
However, dairy isn't meat, so why don't vegans drink animal's milk? Vegans believe that you should never consume animal products in any of their forms for the same ethical reasons. While no cows are killed to produce cow milk, the modern industrial complex ensures that cows are kept against their will to produce milk.Is vegan baking healthier? ›
Are vegan cakes healthier than non-vegan cakes, you may ask? For the most part, not really; while the removal of butter can mean less saturated fat, the vegan friendly replacement, often cocoa butter, can be similar in saturated fat levels.Is honey vegan? ›
Since honey comes from an animal, it is not considered vegan. As The Vegan Society states, “honey is made by bees for bees.” Just like cow's milk and chicken eggs, the natural production of honey is not intended for human consumption.Are Chip Ahoy vegan? ›
Are Original Chips Ahoy Vegan? Unfortunately, the Original Chips Ahoy cookies contain milk-based Whey so they are not vegan-friendly. The Mini Original Chips Ahoy cookies are also NOT vegan.Does Trader Joe's have vegan cookies? ›
In fact, we'll bet you a box of our brand-new Trader Joe's Vegan Cookies & Creme Vanilla Bean Bon Bons that we do... Inspired by the success of our holiday-season Non Dairy Mint & Chip Bon Bons, TJ's Cookies & Creme Bon Bons are a vegan, non-dairy dream come true.Is Nutella vegan? ›
The bottom line. Nutella contains skim milk powder, an animal-derived ingredient. Therefore, it's not vegan. Still, many brands offer similar spreads that are free of animal-based ingredients.Is Ghirardelli chocolate vegan? ›
Most Ghirardelli dark chocolates contain milk derivatives, making them unsuitable for the vegan diet. However, there is a black sheep among their line of dark chocolates — the 72% Cacao Twilight Delight Bar. Yes, it's entirely vegan!
With that being said, the primary reason that the answer is 'no' to your question 'Are M&Ms vegan? ' is because of the milk chocolate, the key ingredient for which is skim milk. Of course, skim milk as an ingredient takes M&M's out of the vegan category, but there's more to know about what's in these candies.Are Kit Kats vegan? ›
Nestlé's vegan KitKat V chocolate bar has been so successful that it is now rolling out to 15 countries. Nestlé's vegan KitKat—called KitKat V—is now rolling out across 15 European countries following a test launch in the United Kingdom and some other countries in 2021.Are Skittles vegan? ›
Most types of Skittles are considered vegan, but not all. While Skittles Classic Fruits, Skittles Sour, Skittles Tropical and Wild Berry Skittles are all currently suitable for vegans, some special editions such as the Once in a Blue Moon Skittles are not, as the blue skittles contain animal product derivatives.Is any candy vegan? ›
Fortunately, loads of candies are vegan, so we can indulge our cravings (mostly) guilt-free. Most dark chocolate is vegan, as are popular sweet treats such as Smarties (known as Rockets in Canada), Oreos, Airheads, Jujubes, and Swedish Fish (some Swedish Fish contain beeswax, so be sure to check the label).Are any Doritos vegan? ›
All Doritos are made from ground corn and mixed with salt and sunflower oil or vegetable oils, so the base tortilla chips Doritos are, fortunately, 100 percent vegan.Is Coke a vegan? ›
The vast majority of our drinks, including Coca‑Cola, are suitable for vegetarians and vegans as they do not contain any animal derivatives.Why can't vegans eat honey? ›
Vegans try to avoid or minimize all forms of animal exploitation, including that of bees. As a result, most vegans exclude honey from their diets. Some vegans also avoid honey to take a stand against conventional beekeeping practices that can harm bee health.Do vegans live longer? ›
One study from JAMA Internal Medicine Journal (opens in new tab) found that vegans have a 9% lower risk of death from all causes compared with omnivores, and another study from that same source suggests as high as 12%.Do vegans drink alcohol? ›
Alcoholic drinks are not naturally vegan. As Dominika Piasecka, spokesperson for The Vegan Society explains, animal products can be introduced in a drink's production process. "Some alcoholic drinks may not be suitable for vegans because of the filtering process prior to bottling."Do vegan cakes exist? ›
Vegan means no animal products, but if a cake is heavily processed, it's still processed, vegan or not. The main difference with a vegan cake is the lack of core ingedient eggs, but we're sorry to tell you… just because a cake has no eggs doesn't put it in the category of “health food"!
Vegan cake is cake made without eggs, dairy butter or dairy milk. Each of these standard ingredients is easily replaced by plant-based substitutes, such as banana or flaxseed for eggs, non-trans fat margarine or oils for butters and plant milks for milk.Are vegans less calories? ›
Vegans had the lowest calorie intake across all the groups, consuming 600 fewer calories than people who ate both meat and plants. Vegetarians had a slightly higher calorie intake than vegans, but still consumed 263 fewer calories than people who ate both meat and plants ( 17 ).Why can't vegans eat sugar? ›
Because refined sugars made from sugarcane require bone char to achieve a clear white colour, most refined cane sugars are unsuitable for vegans. Some types of brown sugar also involve using bone char, such as those that are created by adding molasses to refined cane sugar to achieve the brown colour.Is it expensive to go vegan? ›
The cost of going vegan is no more expensive than any other dietary change and it could even improve your health.Can vegans eat pasta? ›
Most packaged pasta—including spaghetti, rotini, and any other type—is 100 percent vegan. To know for sure, simply check the ingredients on your package! Sometimes, you might see “egg” listed as an ingredient in “fresh” pastas, so avoid those—but generally, pasta contains no animal-derived ingredients.Are marshmallows vegan? ›
So, are marshmallows vegan? Unfortunately, they're not. “Marshmallows are not vegan because they contain gelatin, an animal protein derived from the ligaments, tendons, and skin of animals, such as cows and pigs,” explains registered dietician Grace Pascale.Why are Cheerios not vegan? ›
Unfortunately, most Cheerios aren't vegan. This is because Honey Nut Cheerios contains, as the name implies, honey, which is not vegan. However, both this cereal and the original Cheerios are also fortified with Vitamin D, derived from wool grease.What kind of Oreos are vegan? ›
Thins aside, the current line up of vegan Oreo flavors include Mint, Lemon, Dark Chocolate, Chocolate Hazelnut, Java Chip, Chocolate, Birthday Cake, Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie, Peanut Butter, Carrot Cake, Chocolate Marshmallow, and Caramel Coconut.Do Oreos have eggs? ›
According to the packaging, Oreo cookies contain: “unbleached enriched flour, sugar, palm and/or canola oil, cocoa powder, high fructose corn syrup, leavening, corn starch, salt, soy lecithin, vanillin, and unsweetened chocolate.” No dairy! No butter! No eggs!Are Oreos dairy-free? ›
Yes, Oreos are Dairy-Free, and They Make Gluten-Free Too
Nabisco has announced the launch of certified gluten-free Oreo Cookies in not one, but two varieties.
Chili & Lime Flavored Rolled Corn Tortilla Chips
Like these Takis stand-ins—until now. Unfortunately, the Rolled Corn Tortilla Chips are being taken off shelves. Some stores have had the item out of stock for a while, but it's still a tough blow to fans of the spicy snack.
These delicious bonbons are free from gelatine, gluten and animal products, making them suitable for those that follow a vegan, vegetarian or gluten-free diet. With 200g, 500g, 1kg and 2kg packs available, you'll always have plenty of treats to share and enjoy.Is Trader Joe's Cookie Butter vegan? ›
Trader Joe's Cookie Butter is a vegan product. It uses margarine and butter flavor rather than real butter. It is also free from eggs, other dairy products, and non-vegan emulsifiers.Is Brad Pitt a vegan? ›
A recent article by Glamour said that he has been a vegan for years. Elle Australia has also reported on the actor's vegan diet, referencing an article published by Eonline 2012. Other publications, including the Daily Mail, suggest that Pitt is vegetarian—and has been for “decades.”Are bagels vegan? ›
Basic bagels are vegan and made from flour, water, yeast, sugar, salt, and sometimes vegetable shortening. Still, some include non-vegan ingredients, such as eggs, milk, honey, or L-cysteine.Can vegans eat coconut? ›
Coconuts and coconut products — oil, milk, and cream — are the “go to” vegan ingredient and they are in most of the new vegan product innovations.What chocolate is accidentally vegan? ›
Accidentally vegan chocolate
If you're vegan, you can eat the following chocolate: Cadbury Bournville Plain Chocolate. Green & Blacks – Dark Chocolate, Hazelnut & Currant, Ginger, Maya Gold, Espresso, Spiced Chilli, Lemon, Mint. Lindt Excellence – 70%, 85% and 90% Dark Chocolate.
The original Ferrero Rocher ingredients aren't vegan, as they include milk powder, concentrated butter, and whey powder.Are Reese's vegan? ›
Reese's brand peanut butter cups are not vegan as they are made with milk chocolate and contain dairy. But this recipe is made with dairy-free dark chocolate and is vegan-friendly. Are Justin's peanut butter cups vegan?Is Twix vegan? ›
Conventional Twix bars are vegetarian but they not vegan as they contain milk solids.
Are Tootsie Rolls Vegan? Based on the ingredients provided on the Tootsie Roll website, the “Original Classic Tootsie Roll” contains multiple milk-based ingredients. These include both Condensed Skim Milk and Whey. As both of these products are animal-derived, Tootsie Rolls are NOT vegan.Are Snickers vegan? ›
Are Snickers Vegan? Store-bought Snickers candy bars are not vegan because they contain dairy. This homemade version is made with a fast 3-ingredient chocolate sauce, that's totally dairy-free instead!Can vegans eat cookies? ›
Yes, cookies can indeed be vegan. Even though eggs and butter were listed above as key ingredients, eggs aren't essential and plant-based butter works perfectly. If you're buying your cookies from a shop or cafe, it's definitely worth checking the ingredients label or asking before you tuck in.Are graham crackers vegan? ›
Yep, Nabisco Original Grahams are honey-free, vegan, and ready for animal-free chocolate and marshmallows.Are Nilla Wafers vegan? ›
Are vanilla wafers vegan? Unfortunately no, most conventional brands of vanilla wafers contain ingredients like eggs, whey, and other dairy-based additives.Why do vegans avoid dairy? ›
However, dairy isn't meat, so why don't vegans drink animal's milk? Vegans believe that you should never consume animal products in any of their forms for the same ethical reasons. While no cows are killed to produce cow milk, the modern industrial complex ensures that cows are kept against their will to produce milk.Are marshmallows vegan? ›
So, are marshmallows vegan? Unfortunately, they're not. “Marshmallows are not vegan because they contain gelatin, an animal protein derived from the ligaments, tendons, and skin of animals, such as cows and pigs,” explains registered dietician Grace Pascale.Why is honey not vegan? ›
Vegans avoid eating honey to take a stand against bee exploitation and farming practices that are thought to harm bee health.Is Coke a vegan? ›
The vast majority of our drinks, including Coca‑Cola, are suitable for vegetarians and vegans as they do not contain any animal derivatives.Are any Doritos vegan? ›
All Doritos are made from ground corn and mixed with salt and sunflower oil or vegetable oils, so the base tortilla chips Doritos are, fortunately, 100 percent vegan.
The bottom line. Nutella contains skim milk powder, an animal-derived ingredient. Therefore, it's not vegan. Still, many brands offer similar spreads that are free of animal-based ingredients.Why are my vegan cookies dry? ›
If you think vegan baked goods are dry and crumbly, you probably haven't had one that's been made with the right fat (or the right amount of fat), according to Konya. Butter is what makes traditional baked goods so darn tasty—as well as helps keep it all together—so you can't merely eliminate it and hope for the best.Why do my vegan cookies go flat? ›
The Problem: Your Oven Is Too Hot
If your cookies repeatedly turn out flat, no matter the recipe, chances are your oven is too hot. Here's what's happening. The butter melts super quickly in a too-hot oven before the other ingredients have firmed up into a cookie structure.
Unfortunately, there are no vegan Cool Whip products because they all contain milk ingredients. But there are some delicious vegan whipped creams from other brands to choose from!Can Vegans eat pudding? ›
Most of the instant boxed pudding that they sell at the grocery store is actually vegan (jello is not). However, instant puddings will not set with plant-based milk. You have to cook it on the stovetop to get vegan pudding that will set.Are Oreos dairy-free? ›
Yes, Oreos are Dairy-Free, and They Make Gluten-Free Too
Nabisco has announced the launch of certified gluten-free Oreo Cookies in not one, but two varieties.